Competition

The Swiss Chemistry Olympiad aims to select four promising young chemists from across Switzerland to represent their country at the International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO). The selection is divided into three rounds and preparation events, which are described in detail below. These national rounds follow the guidelines and regulations agreed upon by the International Steering Committee and the International Jury.

However, the competition is not only a selection process: it also brings together like-minded people who share an enthusiasm for chemistry and introduce students to more in-depth chemistry than the high school curriculum.

 

 

First Round

A 40-minute questionnaire about basic knowledge in general chemistry is published online in four languages at the start of each school year. Interested students under the age of 20 at the time of the next IChO and currently studying in a Swiss High School, an International School or Professional School may answer the questions at home or in class. There are usually around 300 submissions and the top 60 students are invited to the second round.

 

First Preparation Weekend

At the end of November, the students who have qualified for the second round are invited to a weekend (Saturday-Sunday) at the University of Basel. Basic knowledge in Chemistry is consolidated and the foundations for advanced topics are taught. The lectures, given by professors and Ph.D. students, are short and interactive. Furthermore, there is time for laboratory visits and the exchange between participants. Accommodation at the Youth Hostel is provided by SwissChO, for free.

Second round

The second round takes place on a mid-January weekend (Friday-Saturday) at the University of Berne. During this time, the students are accommodated in a Youth Hostel, for free. Beside the exam on Saturday, the students also receive a lecture on exam techniques, get a whiff of life at the University of Berne, visit research laboratories and attend a talk about a current research topic given by a senior scientist or professor. The exam itself lasts three hours and consists of ten to twelve theoretical problems. These problems cover a broad range of topics, where the candidates are not supposed to being able to solve them all: This allows the students to focus on their individual strengths and knowledge. The top sixteen students are then selected and invited for the next round, starting with two more preparation weekends.

Preparation Weekends

At the beginning of February, the candidates are invited to a preparatory weekend at the EPF Lausanne. This lasts for three days, from Friday to Sunday, and the students are accommodated in a Youth Hostel, for free. After a short lecture on the theory involved in laboratory work, they will solve practical tasks in the lab including titrations and organic syntheses, all working individually, guided by members of SwissChO.

In March, the same students are invited to the University of Zurich to improve their knowledge in theoretical aspects of chemistry. This part involves no lab work, but short theoretical courses given by professors and Ph.D. students on solving advanced chemistry problems. It lasts for two days, from Saturday to Sunday, and the students are accommodated in a Youth Hostel, for free.

These preparatory weekends allow students to not only deepen their chemistry knowledge and capabilities with hands-on learning, but also get an insight to different Universities and get in touch with academics.

 

Final week

The preparation for the final exam lasts one week and is held in ETH Zürich during the week following Easter. Students are taught advanced topics, both theoretical and practical, from Tuesday through Thursday. Friday is reserved for a theoretical exam in the morning and a practical exam in the lab in the afternoon. During the final ceremony on Saturday morning, the four students who will represent Switzerland in the IChO later in July are announced. These students will receive some some more tailored pieces of training in the meantime.

 

International Chemistry Olympiad

The International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) is an annual chemistry competition for high school students. The event usually lasts ten days in July and is hosted by a different country each year. All participating country may send four candidates and two mentors. One of the days is devoted to the practical exam and one to the theoretical exam, each lasting 5 hours. During days without an exam, sightseeing and activities are organized by the host country. Most importantly, participants will be interacting with other students from all over the world, making friends and so building an international network among promising young chemists. Having no contact with their mentors during this time, each team is cared for by a local guide, fluent in the languages of the participants.

For information on this year’s IChO see https://icho2020.tubitak.gov.tr.

For impression from last year see https://icho2019.paris and https://www.facebook.com/icho2019.paris.

 

 

Throughout the competition, the olympiad covers all necessary expenses for students. This includes travel costs by public transport (2nd class), food, and accommodation.

 

Fürstentum Lichtenstein

In agreement with the Schulamt Liechtenstein, SwissChO is also in charge of selecting and training students from the Fürstentum towards their participation at IChO. Students partake in the same exams as Swiss students and participate in the same preparatory events. Their top ten students are invited to the Basel weekend and the second round where the final four will be selected to attend the further preparation and the national finals where they can secure their ticket for IChO. All costs (travel by 2nd class public transport, food, and accommodation) are covered by SwissChO or Schulamt Lichtenstein as well.

Compétition

Les Olympiades de chimie visent à sélectionner quatre jeunes chimistes prometteurs de toute la Suisse pour représenter leur pays aux Olympiades internationales de chimie (IChO). La sélection est divisée en trois tours et événements de préparation, qui sont décrits en détail ci-dessous. Ces séries nationales suivent les directives et les règlements convenus par le Comité international de direction et le Jury international.

Cependant, le concours n'est pas seulement un processus de sélection : il réunit également des personnes partageant un même enthousiasme pour la chimie et initient les élèves à une chimie plus approfondie que celle du programme d'études secondaires.

 

 

Premier tour

Un questionnaire de 40 minutes sur les connaissances de base en chimie générale est publié en ligne, en quatre langues, au début de chaque année scolaire. Les étudiants intéressés, qui seront âgés de moins de 20 ans au moment de la prochaine IChO et étudiant actuellement dans un lycée suisse ou école professionnelle peuvent répondre au questionnaire en classe ou à domicile. En général, il y a environ 300 soumissions et les 60 meilleurs étudiants sont invités au deuxième round.

 

Premier week-end de préparation

A la fin novembre, les étudiants qui se sont qualifiés pour le deuxième round sont invités à un week-end (samedi-dimanche) à l'Université de Bâle. Les connaissances de base en chimie sont consolidées et les bases des sujets avancés sont enseignées. Les cours, données par des professeurs et des doctorants, sont courts et interactifs. De plus, des visites de laboratoire et l'échange entre les participants sont également au programme. L'hébergement à l'auberge de jeunesse est fourni gratuitement par SwissChO.

Deuxième round

Le deuxième round a lieu un week-end de mi-janvier (vendredi-samedi) à l'Université de Berne. Pendant cette période, les étudiants sont hébergés gratuitement dans une auberge de jeunesse. En plus de l'examen du samedi, les étudiants reçoivent également un cours sur les techniques de réussite d'examens, un aperçu de la vie à l'Université de Berne, visitent des laboratoires de recherche et assistent à une conférence sur un sujet de recherche actuel donnée par un chercheur ou un professeur principal. L'examen lui-même dure trois heures et comprend entre dix et douze problèmes théoriques. Ces problèmes couvrent un large éventail de sujets, et les candidats ne sont pas censés être capables de tous les résoudre: Cela permet aux élèves de se concentrer sur leurs points forts  et leurs connaissances individuelles. Les seize meilleurs étudiants sont ensuite sélectionnés et invités pour le round suivant, en commençant par deux autres week-ends de préparation.

 

Week-ends de préparation

Début février, les candidats sont invités à un week-end préparatoire à l'EPF de Lausanne. Il dure trois jours, du vendredi au dimanche, et les étudiants sont hébergés gratuitement dans une auberge de jeunesse. Après une courte introduction sur la théorie du travail en laboratoire, ils effectueront des travaux  pratiques dans le laboratoire, dont des titrages et des synthèses organiques, travaillant tous individuellement, guidés par des membres de SwissChO.

En mars, les mêmes étudiants sont invités à l'Université de Zurich pour parfaire leurs connaissances dans les aspects théoriques de la chimie. Cette partie n'implique aucun travail de laboratoire, mais de courtes leçons théoriques données par des professeurs et des étudiants doctorants sur la résolution de problèmes de chimie avancée. Ce week-end dure deux jours, du samedi au dimanche, et les étudiants sont hébergés gratuitement dans une auberge de jeunesse.

Ces week-ends préparatoires permettent aux étudiants non seulement d'approfondir leurs connaissances et leurs capacités en chimie grâce à un apprentissage pratique, mais aussi d'avoir un aperçu des différentes universités et d'entrer en contact avec des universitaires.

 

 

Semaine finale

La préparation à l'examen final dure une semaine et se déroule à l'EPF de Zürich dans la semaine qui suit Pâques. Du mardi au jeudi, les étudiants assistent à des cours sur des sujets avancés, tant théoriques que pratiques. Le vendredi est consacré à  un examen théorique le matin et à un examen pratique au laboratoire l'après-midi. Lors de la cérémonie finale du samedi matin, les quatre étudiants qui représenteront la Suisse à l'IChO dans le courant du mois de juillet sont annoncés. Entre-temps, ces étudiants recevront une formation plus personnalisée.

Olympiades internationales de chimie

Les Olympiades internationales de chimie (IChO) sont un concours annuel de chimie destiné aux élèves du secondaire. L'événement dure habituellement dix jours en juillet et se déroule dans un pays différent chaque année. Tous les pays participants peuvent envoyer quatre candidats et deux mentors. Une journée est consacrée à l'examen pratique et une journée à l'examen théorique, d'une durée de 5 heures chacun. Pendant les journées sans examen, des visites touristiques et des activités sont organisées par le pays hôte. Plus important encore, les participants interagiront avec d'autres étudiants du monde entier, se feront des amis et établiront ainsi un réseau international de jeunes chimistes prometteurs. N'ayant aucun contact avec leurs mentors pendant ce temps, chaque équipe est prise en charge par un guide local, parlant couramment la langue des participants.

 

Plus d'informations sur l'IChO 2020 

Impressions sur l'année 2019: Facebook, Web 

 

 

La compétition est gratuite. Pendant toute la durée du concours, les olympiades prennent en charge toutes les dépenses nécessaires aux étudiants. Cela comprend les frais de déplacement en transport en commun (2e classe), la nourriture et l'hébergement.

 

Principalité de Lichtenstein

En accord avec le Schulamt Liechtenstein, SwissChO est également responsable de la sélection et de la formation des étudiants du Fürstentum pour leur participation à l'IChO. Les étudiants passent les mêmes examens que les étudiants suisses et participent aux mêmes épreuves préparatoires. Leurs dix meilleurs étudiants sont invités au week-end de Bâle et au deuxième tour où les quatre finalistes seront sélectionnés pour participer à la préparation ultérieure et à la finale nationale où ils pourront obtenir leur billet pour l'IChO. La SwissChO où le Schulamt Lichtenstein prend également en charge tous les frais (transport en 2e classe, repas et hébergement).